Alexandra Korman 

Meet Alexandra who many already know from Alexandra’s Alterations located on Roswell Road in the Mt. Paren Walk shopping center. Alexandra came to the United States from the Black Sea area of the Ukraine 28 years ago. Her family, her husband, son and daughter, were sponsored by the Atlanta Jewish Community in order to come to the United States in 1990. 

What inspired you or led to your current career? 
I graduated from college designing clothes and I knew how to build the clothing, like a builder, so I also knew how to repair the clothing. I didn’t speak English and I went to work for the alterations place in Fountains Oaks shopping center to learn English and how to communicate with customers. After time I bought the business. 

How long have you lived and or worked in Sandy Springs? 
I have been working in Sandy Springs for 18 years and living in Sandy Springs for 9 years. People here are so friendly and I really enjoy living here. 

What is your favorite restaurant in Sandy Springs? 
I really can’t say because I work so much from early in the morning to the evening, five days a week so I like to relax and eat at home mostly. 

If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be? 
I grew up on the beach, so I love to rejuvenate by being in the sun and water so I try to travel with my family – my husband, my son who is married with 3 children and my daughter who has one child to an allinclusive beach destination in January (like Jamaica) and my husband and I like to take a trip at the end of June or beginning of July to Europe.  

What advice would you give to people? 
To appreciate living in the United States. I lived in the Ukraine in 3 rooms with my parents, my sister, my husband, myself and two children. We all worked very hard and this is how we lived. In America you can work hard and live a good life living on what you makeMy son who was 10 years old when we moved here is a Marine and lives a good life and feels it is important to give back to the county that gave us so much. My sister is visiting Kiev right now and people still live very poor. 

Where do you see yourself in 5 or 10 years? 
Still working, maybe semi-retired but I enjoy working so much! I don’t know what I would do with all the time. 

What words come to mind when you think of the word home? 
My children still. My daughter is 36 and lives here and my son lives in Fairfax, VA  – but they are still my home.

Debbie Soneshine of The Sonenshine Teamwould love your Faces nominations.

Leave a Reply