Rita Tene Ellison

Can You Tell Us A Little About Yourself?
I grew up in Cameroon and France. At 10 years old my mother moved us to the United States to Sandy Springs. My first year was a difficult transition as I did not speak English but I learned to speak it through my ESOL classes and made friends after that year. My work ethic started when I wanted a Razor cellphone at 14 and my mother made me pay for it so I got a bagging job at Kroger in Dunwoody and was able to buy it. I went to college here and graduated from Georgia State with a degree in real estate.

How long have you lived or worked in Sandy Springs?
We bought our first home in Sandy Springs 5 years ago. I actually had to sell my husband on the idea of moving here because I felt like it was home to me. It has been a good decision financially also as our condo has really increased in value.

Who is the most interesting person you have met?
I met a monk in Thailand who was very experienced and wise. I also have met many people in 3rd world countries who are happy with so little – happiness is a choice.

What do you love about Sandy Springs?
It is a beautiful area and my husband and I love driving around the neighborhoods and looking at homes.. I do love the nature trails and hiking by the river. I do enjoy that Everything is close by and the people are so friendly.  It has really evolved since I grew up here.

What is something unique about you?
I was not born in the United States. That I am in an interracial marriage and my husband is also of a different religion. I speak fluent French

What advice would you give to people?
Work on your networking skills with people and know how to have warmth and a connection and know how to touch people. This will benefit both personally and professionally.

What makes you happy?
Helping the people I love to be happy. Growing and learning.

If you could travel anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?
Bali because you can live on $20 a day and Thailand because you can stay at a 5-star hotel including food for $100 a day. I would also like to go to Alaska which we were planning to do before Covid.

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
Starting a family, owning a business, and having investment properties.

 

What words come to mind when you think of the word home?
My condo, Chick Fil A, my mother & her home-cooked meals.

Leave a Reply